EN
  1. Zanzibar safari
  2. Diving and PADI courses in Zanzibar
Boat trips & snorkelling

Diving and PADI courses in Zanzibar

Mnemba Atoll off the north-east coast · try dive in a day · PADI Open Water in ≈ 3 days · snorkelling vs diving

  • Lengthtry dive ≈ 6 h with lunch
  • Getting thereboat
  1. Zanzibar 1 Day Diving Safari Course for Beginners with Lunch★ 5.0 (12) · 6 hUS$200
  2. Zanzibar : 3-Day PADI Open Water Scuba Diving Safari★ 5.0 (10) · 3 daysUS$429
  3. Zanzibar: 1 Day Diving Safari with 2 Stunning Scuba Dives★ 4.6 (9) · 1 dayUS$120
Key facts 6
Length
try dive ≈ 6 h with lunch; Open Water course ≈ 3 days
Getting there
boat from the north-east coast; Matemwe faces Mnemba Atoll
Boat
dive boat, usually 2 dives per day
Park fees
marine park entry and the PADI certification fee are often extra; check 'not included'
Group
ask for the number of students per instructor
Best for
Beginners who want a certificate, and certified divers adding Mnemba

Typical values from the listings and operators’ itineraries, checked 3 November 2026. Each listing’s own page is what counts.

BookableGetYourGuide

Compare the versions

9 listings, best sellers first. Facts come from each listing; “not stated” means the listing doesn’t say.

Which one fits

  1. Zanzibar 1 Day Diving Safari Course for Beginners with Lunch

    Length
    6 h
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    Included

    5.0 · 12 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$200per personGetYourGuide ↗
  2. Zanzibar : 3-Day PADI Open Water Scuba Diving Safari

    Length
    3 days
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    5.0 · 10 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$429per personGetYourGuide ↗
  3. Zanzibar: 1 Day Diving Safari with 2 Stunning Scuba Dives

    Length
    1 day
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    4.6 · 9 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$120per personGetYourGuide ↗
  4. Zanzibar: Discover Scuba Diving Experience

    Length
    1 day
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    5.0 · 1 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$180per personGetYourGuide ↗
  5. Zanzibar: 2-Day PADI Dive Into Paradise on a Scuba Tour

    Length
    2 days
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    5.0 · 1 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$287per personGetYourGuide ↗
  6. Zanzibar: Full-Day Scuba Diving Adventure with Transfers

    Length
    4 h
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    Hotel pickup
    Lunch
    not stated

    5.0 · 1 reviews on GetYourGuide

    fromUS$350per personGetYourGuide ↗
  7. Zanzibar: Mnemba Island Diving with Marine Life

    Length
    6 h
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    New on GetYourGuide, no reviews yet

    fromUS$117per personGetYourGuide ↗
  8. Zanzibar: Open Water Diver Course

    Length
    3 days
    Group
    not stated
    Pickup
    not stated
    Lunch
    not stated

    New on GetYourGuide, no reviews yet

    fromUS$670per personGetYourGuide ↗

In short

Most diving on Unguja is around Mnemba Atoll off the north-east coast, with boats from Matemwe and the north; Pemba's reefs are a separate trip. Beginners can try diving in one day or take a 3-day PADI Open Water course, but if you only want turtles, fish and coral in shallow water, a snorkelling trip to Mnemba or Chumbe Island is simpler and cheaper.

Try dive, course or fun dives

Option For Length Depth limit What you get
Try dive (Discover Scuba or "diving safari for beginners") Non-divers ≈ 1 day Shallow, with an instructor Pool practice, then one or two sea dives; no certificate
PADI Scuba Diver Non-divers with less time ≈ 2 days 12 m, with a dive professional A first certificate, upgradable later
PADI Open Water Diver Non-divers ≈ 3 days 18 m Certificate to dive with a buddy worldwide
PADI Advanced Open Water Open Water divers ≈ 2 days 30 m Five more dives, the deepest to 30 m
Fun dives Certified divers Half or full day Your certification Usually two boat dives

A few listings show a low price for a "1-day diving safari" that turns out to need a certificate, so read who it is for before you book. Course listings often leave out two costs: the marine park entry and the PADI certification fee, which one Matemwe course lists separately in addition to the price. Ask whether equipment, the boat, lunch and transfers are included.

Where you dive: Mnemba, Menai Bay and Pemba

Mnemba Atoll sits off the north-east coast, opposite Matemwe, and is the main dive area for Unguja. It is a marine conservation area with its own entry fee, which dive listings often leave out of the price. The same reef is the island's best-known snorkelling trip, so snorkel boats and dive boats share the area. See the Mnemba snorkelling page.

The south, around Kizimkazi and Menai Bay, has a few try dives by boat. Most dive centres and courses are on the north and north-east coast, so if diving is the main reason for your trip, stay in Matemwe, Nungwi or Kendwa.

Pemba, the island to the north, has its own guided boat dives that start on Pemba. Plan a stay there rather than a day trip. See Nungwi, Chumbe and Pemba.

Chumbe Island, near Stone Town, is a protected reef where diving is not allowed. Go there to snorkel.

Snorkelling or diving

Snorkelling trip Try dive Open Water course
Training None Short briefing and pool practice ≈ 3 days
Depth Surface Shallow, with an instructor Up to 18 m
Time Half day ≈ 1 day ≈ 3 days
Cost Lowest Middle Highest
Suits Families and anyone who swims Curious beginners People who will dive again

If you are not sure, a snorkelling trip first shows you if you are comfortable in the sea before you pay for a course.

How to choose a dive centre

Partner listings name the dive centre or tour operator on the booking page. Before you book, check:

  • Affiliation. The centre should be a registered PADI or SSI dive centre, and you can confirm this on the agency's own dive-centre locator.
  • Students per instructor on courses, and divers per guide on fun dives. Smaller groups mean more attention and a safer dive.
  • Equipment and boat. Ask how old the gear is, whether wetsuits come in your size, and whether the boat carries oxygen and first aid.
  • Fees and paperwork. You will fill in a medical questionnaire, and some conditions need a doctor's signature before you can dive. Check what the price leaves out: marine park entry, certification fee and transfers.
  • Insurance. Zanzibar's mandatory inbound insurance lists emergency medical and repatriation cover but does not mention diving, so check that your own travel insurance covers scuba diving to the depth you plan.

Leave diving for the first part of your stay, so that the wait before flying does not clash with a fly-in safari or your flight home.

How the day runs

  1. Theory with the instructor, about 09:00–16:00

  2. Hotel pickup, drive to the dive centre in Matemwe, first open-water dives with the instructor; light lunch

  3. Two more open-water dives at different sites; certified to dive to 18 m once you pass

Typical itinerary from Zanzibar : 3-Day PADI Open Water Scuba Diving Safari (GetYourGuide). Times shift with flights, tides and weather.

When to go

When to go

A typical year, not a forecast. The rains move a few weeks either way.

JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSeptOctNovDec
Rainmostly drymostly drylong rainslong rainslong rainsmostly drymostly drymostly drymostly dryshort rainsshort rainsshort rains
Crowds & priceshighmediumlowlowlowmediumhighhighmediummediumlowhigh
Our verdictGoodBestMixedWetWetGoodBestBestBestGoodMixedGood

Rain rows follow the Tanzania Meteorological Authority’s seasons for Zanzibar. Crowd levels are the usual pattern of European and local holidays.

Questions people ask

Is it better to snorkel or dive at Mnemba?
Snorkelling shows you the shallow reef, fish and often turtles, and the boat may look for dolphins on the way, with no training needed. Diving takes you deeper along the reef and costs much more, and you need a course or a supervised try dive first.
How long does a PADI Open Water course take?
PADI says 2–4 days. In Zanzibar it is usually sold as 3 days: one day of theory, then two days of sea dives. Reading the PADI online modules before your trip makes the theory day easier.
What is the minimum age for diving?
PADI's Junior Open Water course starts at 10 years old. Divers aged 10–11 are limited to 12 m and dive with a professional or a certified parent, and divers aged 12–14 are limited to 18 m with a certified adult.
How long should I wait to fly after diving?
Divers Alert Network recommends at least 12 hours after a single no-decompression dive, and at least 18 hours after several dives in a day or several days of diving. Plan this before a fly-in safari or your flight home.
Can I dive at Chumbe Island?
No. Diving is not allowed in the Chumbe marine reserve. It is a guided snorkelling site only.
When is the best time to dive in Zanzibar?
Dive centres run all year, but sources disagree on the best months for visibility. Ask the centre about recent conditions, and keep a spare day in case a boat is cancelled for weather.

Read next

Sources

  1. padi.com — Open Water course length: 2–4 days
  2. blog.padi.com — Junior Open Water age and depth limits
  3. blog.padi.com — PADI Scuba Diver: maximum 12 m under supervision of a PADI professional
  4. dan.org — Flying after diving: 12 h after a single dive, 18 h after multiple dives or days
  5. chumbeisland.com — Diving not possible in the Chumbe marine protected area
  6. getyourguide.com — 3-day Open Water course from Matemwe: schedule, 18 m certification, entrance and certificate fees excluded
  7. inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz — What the mandatory Zanzibar inbound insurance covers
  8. getyourguide.com — Guided boat dives that start on Pemba
  9. getyourguide.com — One-day dive listing that requires a diving certificate
  10. getyourguide.com — One-day beginner course: pool practice, then two open-water dives, with lunch

Tour prices, ratings and durations: GetYourGuide partner feeds, refreshed daily.