EN
  1. Zanzibar safari
  2. Tanzania safari and Zanzibar
Safari + beach

Tanzania safari and Zanzibar

6–14 days · safari first, beach last · ≈ 1–2 h domestic flight to Zanzibar · one visa for both

  • Length6–14 days
  • Getting theredomestic flights: Zanzibar ↔…
  1. Zanzibar Beach Holiday and Nyerere National Park Safari Guided TourHeadout · 9 daysUS$3,257
  2. Zanzibar and Serengeti Guided Tour: Beaches, Game Drives, and Local ExperiencesHeadout · 8 daysUS$4,331
  3. 5-Day Serengeti Great Migration Safari from ZanzibarGetYourGuide · 5 daysUS$2,220
Key facts 6
Length
6–14 days
Getting there
domestic flights: Zanzibar ↔ Arusha ≈ 1.5 h; Zanzibar → Nyerere ≈ 1 h 15 – 1 h 25
Stay
safari lodges or tented camps, then a beach hotel
Park fees
park fees included on the packages listed here; check each one
Group
guided packages with a driver-guide; private on request
Best for
One trip that covers big game and a beach week

Typical values from the listings and operators’ itineraries, checked 3 November 2026. Each listing’s own page is what counts.

BookableHeadout · GetYourGuide

Compare the versions

5 listings, best sellers first. Facts come from each listing; “not stated” means the listing doesn’t say.

Which one fits

  1. Zanzibar Beach Holiday and Nyerere National Park Safari Guided Tour

    Length
    9 days
    Getting there
    Return flights
    Group
    not stated
    Park fees
    Included
    Stay
    not stated

    New on Headout, no reviews yet

    fromUS$3,257per personHeadout ↗
  2. Zanzibar and Serengeti Guided Tour: Beaches, Game Drives, and Local Experiences

    Length
    8 days
    Getting there
    Return flights
    Group
    not stated
    Park fees
    Included
    Stay
    not stated

    New on Headout, no reviews yet

    fromUS$4,331per personHeadout ↗
  3. 5-Day Serengeti Great Migration Safari from Zanzibar

    Length
    5 days
    Getting there
    not stated
    Group
    not stated
    Park fees
    not stated
    Stay
    not stated

    New on GetYourGuide, no reviews yet

    fromUS$2,220per personGetYourGuide ↗
  4. Zanzibar Paradise: 8-Day All-Inclusive Beach & Selous Safari

    Length
    8 days
    Getting there
    not stated
    Group
    not stated
    Park fees
    not stated
    Stay
    not stated

    New on GetYourGuide, no reviews yet

    fromUS$23,048per personGetYourGuide ↗
  5. 12 Days Best Of Tanzania Safari and Zanzibar Beach Tour

    Length
    12 days
    Getting there
    not stated
    Group
    not stated
    Park fees
    not stated
    Stay
    not stated

    New on GetYourGuide, no reviews yet

    fromUS$8,745per personGetYourGuide ↗

In short

Do the safari first and finish on the beach: fly into the mainland for the northern parks (Serengeti, Ngorongoro, Tarangire), or stay on Zanzibar and fly out to Nyerere or Mikumi for a shorter southern safari. For 10 days, a typical split is 4–5 nights on safari and 5 on Zanzibar.

Two ways to combine safari and beach

Northern circuit + Zanzibar. Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, Tarangire and Lake Manyara sit in the north of Tanzania, around Arusha. You arrive on the mainland, do the safari by road, then take a domestic flight to Zanzibar. Coastal Aviation's timetable has a daily Arusha → Zanzibar flight at 12:45, landing 14:20, which waits for the flights from the Serengeti and Manyara. This is the classic version and the one most "Tanzania safari and Zanzibar" packages sell.

Southern parks from Zanzibar. If you would rather fly straight to Zanzibar and stay in one hotel, you can fly out to Nyerere National Park (formerly part of the Selous Game Reserve) or Mikumi for 1–3 days. Scheduled flights from Zanzibar to the Nyerere airstrips take ≈ 1 h 15 – 1 h 25. It is less driving and fewer hotel changes, but these flights are closed or suspended during the long rains (mid-March to end of May). See 2–3 day safaris from Zanzibar and 1-day safaris by plane.

How to split the nights

Trip length Safari Zanzibar Notes
6–7 days 2–3 nights (Nyerere/Mikumi from the island, or a 2–3 day Serengeti fly-in) 4 nights Base yourself on the beach and fly out
8–10 days 4–5 nights, northern circuit 4–5 nights Arrive on the mainland, fly Arusha → Zanzibar
11–12 days 5–6 nights, northern circuit 5–6 nights Room for a night in Stone Town
13–14 days 6–7 nights (north, or north + Nyerere) 6–7 nights Slower pace, fewer 05:00 starts

Two things save time. First, book international flights "open-jaw": into the mainland, home from Zanzibar, so you never backtrack. Second, keep one buffer night between the end of the safari and your flight home; light-aircraft schedules can change and some routes only run with a minimum number of passengers.

Flights between safari and island

The domestic flights are small planes with tight luggage limits: 15 kg per person including hand luggage on Coastal Aviation, 20 kg on Auric Air. Pack the safari part into a soft bag. Coastal sells an XL seat with a 30 kg allowance and stores bags at its Dar es Salaam airport office; otherwise leave the rest at your Zanzibar hotel.

Published schedules give an idea of the day:

  • Zanzibar → Arusha: 08:40 – 10:15 (Coastal), connecting to the Serengeti.
  • Seronera (Serengeti) → Zanzibar: 10:00 – 11:40 (Auric Air) or 10:45 – 14:20 via Arusha (Coastal).
  • Zanzibar → Nyerere airstrips: 07:00 – 08:15 (Auric Air) or 07:50 – 09:15 via Dar es Salaam (Coastal).

Paperwork for a two-part trip

One Tanzania visa covers the mainland and Zanzibar. Zanzibar's mandatory inbound travel insurance is decided by your first point of entry into Tanzania: arrive on Zanzibar first and you buy the Zanzibar policy; arrive on the mainland first and the mainland insurer's policy applies, and one valid policy covers both. Amounts are on the fee card.

What the bookable packages include

Only a handful of complete safari-and-beach packages are sold on our partner platforms, and they differ a lot: a 9-day Nyerere + beach trip, an 8-day Serengeti + beach trip, an 8-day all-inclusive Selous + catamaran trip, a 12-day "best of" northern circuit with beach, and a 5-day Serengeti migration trip that starts from Zanzibar. The two Headout packages list all in-country flights, meals, park fees and airport transfers as included, and exclude international flights, visas, tips and insurance.

If none of them fits, build it in two parts: a Serengeti fly-in from Zanzibar or a mainland safari, plus your own beach hotel and an airport transfer. For a slower, private version for couples, see the safari and Zanzibar honeymoon page.

Paid on top

Official fees and rules

What the park, conservation area or venue charges. Check whether your tour price already includes it.

Mikumi, Nyerere and Serengeti: official park fees

Mikumi NP entry, adultnon-resident adult, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30; VAT not stated in this rowTZS 76,6501
Mikumi NP entry, child 5–15non-resident child aged 5–15, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30; VAT not stated in this rowTZS 25,5502
Nyerere NP entry, adultnon-resident adult, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-05-16 to 2027-03-14 (season "ENTRY HIGH"); VAT not stated in this rowTZS 178,8503
Nyerere NP entry, child 5–15non-resident child aged 5–15, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30; VAT not stated in this rowTZS 51,1004
Serengeti NP entry, adultnon-resident adult, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-05-16 to 2027-03-14 (season "ENTRY HIGH"); VAT not stated in this rowTZS 178,8505
Serengeti NP entry, child 5–15non-resident child aged 5–15, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30; VAT not stated in this rowTZS 51,1006
Tarangire NP entry, adultnon-resident adult, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-05-16 to 2027-03-14 (season "ENTRY HIGH"); VAT not stated in this rowTZS 127,7507
Tarangire NP entry, child 5–15non-resident child aged 5–15, per person per 24 h; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30; VAT not stated in this rowTZS 38,3258
Mikumi NP concession fee (overnight stay), adultnon-resident adult, per person per night in a lodge/camp inside the park; tariff dated 2026-07-01 to 2027-06-30TZS 63,8759
  • Nyerere NP and Selous. Nyerere National Park is a TANAPA national park, carved from the northern sector of the Selous Game Reserve.10
  • What the entry fee covers. TANAPA conservation (entry) fees are per person and valid for 24 hours from the time of entry.11
  • Children. Children under 5 enter TANAPA parks free; child rates apply to ages 5–15.12
  • How to pay. Visa and MasterCard are accepted at TANAPA park gates; TANAPA also lists mobile money (M-Pesa, Tigo Pesa, Airtel Money) and payment through its online reservation system.13
  • Payment system. TANAPA fees are paid through the Government Electronic Payment Gateway (GePG).14
  • VAT. TANAPA's tariff page says all fees are inclusive of 18% VAT where applicable (the per-row tariff data does not mark VAT).15

Checked 3 November 2026 on Tanzania National Parks.

Ngorongoro Conservation Area: official entry and crater fees

Ngorongoro Conservation Area entry, adultnon-East African citizen aged 16+, per person per entry (permit valid 24 h)US$70.816
Ngorongoro Conservation Area entry, childnon-East African child; NCAA labels the row "Children aged 5 years and below" (see gaps), under 5 freeUS$23.617
Ngorongoro Crater service fee, per vehicleper vehicle per trip into the crater, non-East African citizensUS$29518
Ngorongoro Conservation Area entry, East African adultEast African citizen aged 16+ (same for Tanzanian citizens)TZS 11,80016
Ngorongoro Conservation Area entry, resident/expatriate adultexpatriates/residents living in Tanzania aged 16+, or equivalent in TZSUS$35.419
  • What the permit covers. An NCAA entry permit is valid for one entry within 24 hours only. NCAA says tariffs can change without prior notice.20
  • Crater service fee. The crater service fee is charged per vehicle per trip; all permits, including crater service, are single entry.21
  • Vehicles in the crater. Only 4×4 vehicles up to 3,500 kg tare weight may go down to the Ngorongoro Crater floor (authorised trucks for organised groups excepted).22
  • Guide. All crater visitors must be accompanied by a licensed guide or an official NCAA guide.23
  • Driving hours. Driving in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area is allowed 06:00–18:00; outside these hours permission is needed.24
  • Plastic bags. Plastic bags are not allowed in the Ngorongoro Conservation Area.25

Checked 3 November 2026 on Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority.

Zanzibar entry: mandatory travel insurance and Tanzania visa

Zanzibar inbound travel insurance, adultforeign visitor, per person, per trip (max 92 days)US$4426
Zanzibar inbound travel insurance, childper child; the source does not define the child age bandUS$2226
Zanzibar inbound travel insurance, SADC/EAC travellertravellers from SADC and EAC member statesUS$2226
Tanzania visa (Zanzibar), Ordinary single entrytourists of most visa-requiring nationalities; valid up to 90 daysUS$5027
Tanzania visa (Zanzibar), Multiple entry for US citizensUSA passport holders visiting for tourism (they cannot get the Ordinary visa); valid 1 year, max 90 days per stayUS$10028
  • Who must buy the insurance. Compulsory for every foreign visitor entering Zanzibar, even if you already hold your own travel or medical insurance. Only a Zanzibar Insurance Corporation policy counts.29
  • What the insurance covers. Emergency medical expenses, medical and body repatriation, personal accident, baggage delay, theft and loss, legal expenses and personal liability. The basic plan excludes terrorism.30
  • How long the insurance lasts. Valid inside Tanzania for up to 92 consecutive days, per the dates on the policy certificate. It cannot be renewed: stay longer and you buy a new policy.31
  • Since when. Mandatory for all foreign visitors to Zanzibar since 1 October 2024.32
  • Where to buy the insurance. Online at inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz, which the insurer calls the only official website for it.33
  • Arriving via Dar es Salaam or the mainland. Mainland Tanzania also requires inbound travel insurance from 1 October 2026. Your first point of entry decides the insurer: Zanzibar first means ZIC (inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz); the mainland first means the National Insurance Corporation (inbound.nicinsurance.co.tz). One valid policy covers both, so you don't pay twice.34
  • Visa: online or on arrival. Get the visa online through Tanzania Immigration Services (visa.immigration.go.tz, linked from immigration.go.tz) or on arrival at an official entry point. Immigration recommends applying online.35
  • Visa: one visa for mainland and Zanzibar. Pick your first destination on the form; the same visa lets you visit both mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar.36
  • Who needs no visa. Citizens of EAC countries, SADC countries (except Comoros) and Commonwealth countries, except the UK, Canada, Nigeria, India, Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand.37
  • Zanzibar airport. Abeid Amani Karume International Airport (AAKIA), run by the Zanzibar Airports Authority.38

Checked 3 November 2026 on Zanzibar Insurance Corporation.

When to go

When to go

A typical year, not a forecast. The rains move a few weeks either way.

JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSeptOctNovDec
Rainmostly drymostly drylong rainslong rainslong rainsmostly drymostly drymostly drymostly dryshort rainsshort rainsshort rains
Crowds & priceshighmediumlowlowlowmediumhighhighmediummediumlowhigh
Our verdictGoodBestMixedWetWetGoodBestBestBestGoodMixedGood

Rain rows follow the Tanzania Meteorological Authority’s seasons for Zanzibar. Crowd levels are the usual pattern of European and local holidays.

Questions people ask

Should I do the safari or the beach first?
Safari first in most cases. Game drives start early and the light aircraft have tight luggage limits, so it is easier to rest on the beach at the end and fly home from Zanzibar.
How do I get from the Serengeti to Zanzibar?
By scheduled light aircraft, either straight from Seronera airstrip or via Arusha. Published flights leave Seronera in the morning and land in Zanzibar between ≈ 11:40 and 14:20.
How many days do I need for a safari and Zanzibar?
Seven days is the minimum for a short safari plus a few beach days. Ten to twelve days lets you do the northern parks properly and still have five nights on the island.
Do I need two visas?
No. The Tanzania visa covers both the mainland and Zanzibar; you pick your first destination on the application form. Zanzibar's travel insurance rules are on the fee card.
What is the best time for a safari and beach trip?
Avoid the long rains, ≈ March–May. Flights to Nyerere (Selous) are suspended or closed from mid-March to the end of May, and Zanzibar also has short rains ≈ October–December.
Is it cheaper to book the safari and the beach separately?
Often, yes, because you can choose your own beach hotel. You then have to line up the flight days yourself; the packages here sell the whole chain as one booking.

Read next

Sources

  1. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Mikumi National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0001","ProductName":"Entrance Adults (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":76650,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  2. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Mikumi National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0002","ProductName":"Entrance Children 5 - 15 Years (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":25550,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  3. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Nyerere National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0001","ProductName":"Entrance Adults (NR)","Season":"ENTRY HIGH","FromDate":"2026-05-16","ToDate":"2027-03-14","Currency":"TZS","Amount":178850,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  4. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Nyerere National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0002","ProductName":"Entrance Children 5 - 15 Years (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":51100,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  5. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Serengeti National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0001","ProductName":"Entrance Adults (NR)","Season":"ENTRY HIGH","FromDate":"2026-05-16","ToDate":"2027-03-14","Currency":"TZS","Amount":178850,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  6. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Serengeti National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0002","ProductName":"Entrance Children 5 - 15 Years (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":51100,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  7. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Tarangire National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0001","ProductName":"Entrance Adults (NR)","Season":"ENTRY HIGH","FromDate":"2026-05-16","ToDate":"2027-03-14","Currency":"TZS","Amount":127750,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  8. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Tarangire National Park","Category":"Entrance","RevenueCode":"REV0002","ProductName":"Entrance Children 5 - 15 Years (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":38325,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  9. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “"Park":"Mikumi National Park","Category":"Concession","RevenueCode":"REV0305","ProductName":"Concession Fee Adult (NR)","Season":"ALL","FromDate":"2026-07-01","ToDate":"2027-06-30","Currency":"TZS","Amount":63875,"createdAt":"2026-07-26” (checked 3 November 2026)
  10. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “Carved from the northern sector of the Selous Game Reserve, Nyerere National Park protects a colossal landscape of rivers, wetlands, open plains and woodlands.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  11. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “Conservation fees are valid for 24 hours from time of entry” (checked 3 November 2026)
  12. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “Children under 5 years of age enter FREE of charge” (checked 3 November 2026)
  13. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “Visa, MasterCard accepted at park gates” (checked 3 November 2026)
  14. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “Payments are made using Government Electronic Payment Gateway (GePG)” (checked 3 November 2026)
  15. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — “All fees are inclusive of 18% VAT where applicable” (checked 3 November 2026)
  16. ncaa.go.tz — “Non-East African Citizen (USD) Of or above the age of 16 years 11,800 11,800 35.40 70.80 Children aged 5 years and below 2,360” (checked 3 November 2026)
  17. ncaa.go.tz — “70.80 Children aged 5 years and below 2,360 2,360 11.80 23.60 Children below 5 years Free” (checked 3 November 2026)
  18. ncaa.go.tz — “Non-East African Citizens N/A 295 F: WALKING SAFARI GUIDE FEES” (checked 3 November 2026)
  19. ncaa.go.tz — “Expatriates/Residents Living in Tanzania (USD) or equivalent in (TZS) Non-East African Citizen (USD) Of or above the age of 16 years 11,800 11,800 35.40” (checked 3 November 2026)
  20. ncaa.go.tz — “PLEASE NOTE: Permit once issued is valid for one entry within 24 hours only. Tariffs are subjected to change without prior notice.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  21. ncaa.go.tz — “Entry and camping fees must be paid within 24 hours of entry, and all permits, including crater service, are single entry.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  22. ncaa.go.tz — “Only 4×4 vehicles up to 3,500 Kgs of tare weight are allowed in the Ngorongoro Crater floor except for authorized trucks for organized groups.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  23. ncaa.go.tz — “A licensed guide or an official NCAA guide must accompany all crater visitors.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  24. ncaa.go.tz — “Driving is permitted between the hours of 06:00 and 18:00. Beyond these hours, permission must be obtained” (checked 3 November 2026)
  25. ncaa.go.tz — “Plastic bags are not allowed in the Ngorongoro conservation area.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  26. zic.co.tz — “Cost USD 44 per adult USD 22 per child USD 22 for travelers from SADC and EAC member states” (checked 3 November 2026)
  27. visa.immigration.go.tz — “The fee for Ordinary Visa is 50 USD and has a validity of up to 90 days;” (checked 3 November 2026)
  28. visa.immigration.go.tz — “The fee for Multiple Visa is 100 USD and has a validity of 1 year.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  29. zic.co.tz — “Even if a traveler already holds valid travel or medical insurance from another provider, this insurance remains mandatory as part of the official entry requirements.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  30. inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz — “The basic covers provided are the cost of emergency medical expenses and repatriation expenses (body and medical) personal accident baggage delay theft and lost legal expenses personal liabilities etc.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  31. inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz — “Policy covers are valid inside of Tanzania for a maximum of 92 consecutive days.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  32. jp.tzembassy.go.tz — “The Revolutionary Government of Zanzibar has issued a travel notification noting, that from 1st October 2024, it will be mandatory for all foreign visitors to acquire inbound travel insurance” (checked 3 November 2026)
  33. inbound.visitzanzibar.go.tz — “Important: This is the only official website to apply for your Zanzibar travel insurance.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  34. zic.co.tz — “The applicable Mandatory Inbound Travel Insurance shall be determined according to the visitor's first point of entry into the United Republic of Tanzania.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  35. visa.immigration.go.tz — “There are two options available for obtaining Tanzania Visa. The first option is obtaining Visa by applying online through Tanzania Immigration Services official website (www.immigration.go.tz) ; and the second option is obtaining Visa on arrival at official entry point.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  36. visa.immigration.go.tz — “If an applicant wishes to visit both Tanzania Mainland and Zanzibar, he/she is advised to select his first destination while filling the form. But he will be allowed to visit both places without a need for a new Visa;” (checked 3 November 2026)
  37. visa.immigration.go.tz — “These are EAC Member State countries, SADC member countries except Comoro and Commonwealth countries except United Kingdom, Canada, Nigeria, India, Pakistan, Australia and New Zealand.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  38. zaa.go.tz — “Major Airpors operated by Zanzibar Airports Authority are Abeid Amani Karume International Airport (AAKIA) and Pemba Airport.” (checked 3 November 2026)
  39. coastal.co.tz — Zanzibar–Arusha, Zanzibar–Seronera and Zanzibar–Selous schedules; long-rains suspension
  40. storage.aerocrs.com — Auric Air Zanzibar–Nyerere and Zanzibar–Seronera schedules, wet-season closure
  41. coastal.co.tz — light-aircraft baggage limit
  42. visa.immigration.go.tz — one visa for mainland and Zanzibar
  43. zic.co.tz — insurance by first point of entry
  44. tanzaniaparks.go.tz — Serengeti best time
  45. meteo.go.tz — Zanzibar rainy seasons

Tour prices, ratings and durations: Headout, GetYourGuide partner feeds, refreshed daily.